Be transported to the world of dizzying mountains, lush valleys and glittering turquoise lakes with this Alpine-theme programme. Seven soloists from Orchestra for the Earth will play works by Brahms, Mahler and Richard Strauss, all of whom sought out the solace and beauty of Europe’s great mountain range for inspiration.


OFE has a special relationship with these mountains, touring there every year to generate support for a new nature reserve in Austria and run outdoor musical projects with local children and musicians. The programme opens with Brahms’ achingly beautiful Clarinet Quintet followed by the epic opening movement of Mahler’s ‘Resurrection’ Symphony and Strauss’s whirlwind tone poem, Don Juan. These last two pieces, usually played by full orchestra, are presented here in thrilling, virtuosic arrangements for septet.

Sunday 5th June, 3pm

Stoller Hall, Manchester

BRAHMS Clarinet Quintet
MAHLER Totenfeier (Symphony No.2, first movement)

Soloists from Orchestra for the Earth

John Warner piano/director

At the Summit

SH logo.png
Asset 12MastersMashup_RGB.png

Tickets for Trees

Each ticket purchased to an OFE event plants 1 tree as part of our Tickets for Trees scheme, in partnership with the Eden Reforestation Projects.



‘It is the expression of tremendous love for this Earth, the longing to live upon it in peace, to enjoy nature to its greatest depths…’ (Alban Berg on Mahler’s Ninth Symphony)

Experience Mahler's masterpiece like never before, in a chamber arrangement that is as intimate as it is visceral, performed under breathtaking images of Alpine glaciers. 

The natural world that Mahler adored, and that his Ninth Symphony conjures up so beautifully, is under greater threat now than ever before. The Alps have already undergone dramatic changes since Mahler's lifetime, none more apparent than the retreat of glaciers. The science shows that without dramatic and immediate action to de-carbonise, Alpine glaciers will shrink by 95% by the end of the century. Join us for a unique performance of Mahler's masterpiece, and learn how we can avert the crisis we all face.

King's Place, London

MAHLER Symphony No. 9
(80 mins, no interval)

John Warner conductor

The Long Farewell